Aviation Studies

As you progress through Air cadets you will have to undertake training in various areas of study work. We call this classification levels. Heres an explanation.

There are five different cadet classifications (or grades) that show what stage  of training a cadet has completed. As you progress through the classification  structure the training becomes progressive more detailed and more specialised.  It is designed to give you the necessary skills and knowledge to be able to more  fully take part in the other activities available to you. Training will vary  between formal lessons, hands-on projects and outdoors activities. There will  also be opportunities outside of the Squadron to obtain or develop valuable  skills and knowledge including trips to museums air shows and RAF bases.

When you start as a cadet, you will initially become a Junior Air Cadet. The  initial part of your training will introduce you to the Air Cadet Organisation,  teach you basic foot drill and provide you with a uniform and guidance on how to  care for it. Once you have covered the basics, you will enrolled and become a  Second Class Air Cadet. From here you will begin formal your classification  training. Initially you will study a wide range of subjects, both theory and  practical based as you study to become a First Class cadet. This is the first  classification you can obtain and should take between 4-6 months after you join.  You will study a wide range of subjects, from the RAF to Initial Expedition  Training, both in formal lessons and with hands on training.

You will then have reached First Class Air Cadet

The next stage in your training is to become a Leading Air Cadet. This involves learning basic navigation and map reading, understanding how an aircraft flies and stays in the air and being able to identify common aircraft and understand how an airfield works. Once you have completed the 3 assessments required you will become a leading cadet. This should take approximately a year after becoming 1st Class.  Upon completion of  your First Class and Leading training you will be eligible for a BTEC Award in Aviation  Studies

You will then be classified a Leading Air Cadet

The next classification you study for is Senior Air Cadet. At this point you  will begin to narrow down the subject that you take, but will study them in more  detail. There are 12 subjects to choose from, of which only 3 will be studied.  They include how a jet engine works, the theory behind rocket power, how planes and navigators navigate using not just a map and compass,  but the full range of instruments a plane offers, they also include the  principles of Radar and Radio, as well as the use of Air Power and the  construction of planes. Once you have completed the 3 subjects, you will become a  Senior Air Cadet. Again this should take about 1 year after you become a Leading  Air Cadet.

Will you strive to reach Senior Air Cadet Classification?

The next classification you study for is Master Air Cadet. Continuing from  Senior, you will study a further 3 subjects, from the 12 available to you. Once  you have completed the 3 assessments, you will become a Master Air Cadet. Again this  should take about 1 year after you become a Senior Air Cadet. Upon completion of  your Master Air Cadet training you will be eligible for a BTEC Certificate in  Aviation Studies.

The Master Air Cadet Stage.

The final classification you can achieve is Instructor Air Cadet. This does not  involve formal examinations, but does require attendance upon a Method of  Instruction Course, followed by a consolidation period and assessment. This will  qualify you to teach other cadets various aspects of the Air Cadet syllabus.  Unlike the earlier classifications, you obtain a lanyard as apposed to a badge.  This makes instructor cadets very distinct and shows they have completed the  full level of academic training available to them.

Instructor Air Cadet

However it does not end there. Other lanyards are available for cadets who have  completed further courses, training them in additional leadership and field  craft skills (Junior Leaders Course), or aviation related disciplines (Qualifies  Aerospace Instructor Course). Also available are various sports and adventure  training courses, shooting courses, health and safety, media communications and  many more, all allowing you do develop yourself more.

Qualified Aerospace Instructor

Qualified Junior Leader

Cromer Air Cadets

Pride in Excellence
Cromer Air Cadets. Pride in Excellence. Next Open Evening Wednesday 11th May 2016, Next Intake Day Wednesday 18th May 2016

Follow me on Twitter

Air Cadets Main Homepage